SMS Best Conference PhD Paper Prize

The SMS with the initial support from the consulting firm Booz Allen Hamilton created this award in 2000 in recognition of a PhD candidate's presentation of an outstanding paper at the SMS Annual International Conference.

The formal criteria for PhD candidates to submit their work for this award are as follows:

PhD candidates are invited to submit a full paper version of their submitted proposal for consideration by the review committee. These are studied before the conference and 10 finalists are named prior to the conference.

Five winners will be honored at the conference with the SMS Best Conference PhD Paper Prize and will receive awards of US$1,500 each. All winners will also be presented with a commemorative certificate and recognition at the conference, usually during the awards luncheon. Thus far 65 individuals have been awarded this honor. An additional 35 individuals have been named as Runners-Up; this portion of the award was discontinued after 2006.

Tomi Laamanen and Pamela Barr will serve as the 2010 Co-Chairs of the selection committee.

Click here for list of past recipients of this award

Strategic Management Society